Site Logo

Hello, you are using an old browser that's unsafe and no longer supported. Please consider updating your browser to a newer version, or downloading a modern browser.

Templeton Prize Logo
Templeton Prize Mobile Menu Trigger

First announced in the heart of Fleet Street, the center of London’s newspaper district, the Templeton Prize and its Laureates have long captured international attention, featured on front pages and national news broadcasts from Poland and Brazil to the UK, US, Japan, and South Africa.

Over the last four decades, the award has gone to inspiring figures from around the world, including philosophers, theoretical physicists, Buddhist and Benedictine monks — and one canonized saint.




Opinion Leaders


Religious Leaders


Theologians and Philosophers

The Ceremony

The Templeton Prize has honored Laureates in public and private ceremonies at venerable locations throughout the world.

From private gatherings at Buckingham Palace hosted by Prince Philip to large-scale celebrations at the United Nations in New York, Washington National Cathedral in Washington, D.C., St. George’s Cathedral in Cape Town, South Africa, and the Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York City, Prize Laureates have received their awards in a variety of settings. Ceremonies have featured special musical performances and remarks by dignitaries such as United Nations Secretary General António Guterres, British Prime Minister Margaret Thatcher, and Japanese Prime Minister Takeo Fukuda.

Watch the 2020 Ceremony

The Medal & Scroll

Templeton Prize laureates are presented with a medal and a scroll. Each scroll is a work of art, uniquely designed to represent the year’s winner.

The medal is made of pure silver and is engraved with the Prize’s tree of life motif on one side and the laureate’s name and prize year on the reverse. Its ribbon is custom-made to depict the colors of the laureate’s home country’s flag. A handmade scroll detailing the laureate’s contributions contains the interlaced branches of the tree of life, symbolizing the connection of creation and life’s continuity. It is personalized with the winner’s name, year, and illustrations of significant emblems to the laureate.

Globally Renowned

Templeton Prize Laureates encompass an ever-increasing range of nationalities.

Past winners have represented countries including Albania, Australia, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, China (Tibet), Czech Republic, England, France, Germany, Hungary, India, Italy, Japan, Jordan, Pakistan, Poland, Russia, Scotland, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, Switzerland, and the United States.